Enjoy A Free Summer Concert In The Beautiful Boston Public Library Courtyard

Experiencing an outdoor concert beneath the stars is one of the purest joys of summer. This year the gorgeous landmark that is the Boston Public Library will feature a Concert in the Courtyard series. Best of all, these eclectic shows are entirely FREE!

#courtyard #bostonpubliclibrarycourtyard #bostonpubliclibrary

A post shared by @margaxiu on

The breathtaking McKim Building’s deep interior courtyard is a beautiful haven of Grecian tranquility complete with a bronze cast fountain statue – Frederick MacMonnies’ Bacchante and Infant Faun.

Beginning June 2, the McKim Courtyard will host bi-weekly musical acts every Friday from 12:30 p.m. to 1:30 p.m. and every Wednesday from 6 p.m. to 7 p.m.

Here is a preview of the artists you can look forward to in June. Visit the BPL website for more information.

June

Friday, June 2
Area 9 Quartet 

According to the BPL website, the Area 9 Quartet is a “Boston-based ensemble dedicated to exploring the rich, diverse, and ever-growing chamber music repertoire for saxophone.”

Had a great time playing for the Harvard Medical School Christmas party last night!

A post shared by Area9Quartet (@area9quartet) on

Wednesday, June 7
Marco Mares

Marco Mares is a singer-songwriter from Mexico City. His music is “an interactive performances highlight fun, funky pop mixed with romantic Spanish lyrics.”

https://www.instagram.com/p/BT9dHeDFKn7/?taken-by=esemimark

Friday, June 9
Boston Philharmonic

The famous and ever-popular, Boston Philharmonic will perform chamber and quartet music as part of their education and community outreach program.

March Interpretation Class! @longymusic

A post shared by Boston Philharmonic (@bostonphilharmonic) on

Wednesday, June 14
Francesca Crowley

Francesca Crowley is an American singer-songwriter whose modern folk style has been influenced by icons such as Stevie Nicks, Norah Jones, and Joni Mitchell. She strives to create new and different music inspired by her life.

Friday, June 16
Project STEP

Project STEP’s (String Training and Education Program) mission is to address the imbalance of underrepresented racial and ethnic groups in classical music by identifying musically talented children from Boston and surrounding communities and providing them with comprehensive musical instruction.

Project STEP

A post shared by Project STEP (@projectstep) on

Wednesday, June 21
Maro Maro

Maro Maro is a singer-songwriter, pianist, and guitarist from Lisbon, Portugal.

 

Friday, June 23
Francisco Roldán

Francisco Roldán was born in Columbia. He presents a concert of lyrical, rhythmic, and sensual music by Central and South American composers on the classical guitar.

#lacw #franciscoroldan #instruments of the people

A post shared by Latin American Cultural Week (@latinamericanculturalweek) on

Wednesday, June 28
Aliya Cycon Project

Aliya Cycon and her band of musicians from around the world feature traditional Arabic music to create an “unforgettable East-meets-West experience.”

Friday, June 30
Boston Youth Symphony Orchestras (BYSO) Intensive Community Program (ICP)

“In 1998, Boston Youth Symphony Orchestras created the Intensive Community Program, a rigorous instrument training program that brings quality classical music instruction to underrepresented communities. ICP accepts young students who show exceptional interest in studying an instrument and provides them with weekly music lessons, ensemble classes, and the use of an instrument, preparing them to audition into one of the BYSO orchestras.”

 

Check out the rest of the summer schedule below!

Wednesday, July 5
Brandon Diaz

Friday, July 7
NorthStar Duo

Wednesday, July 12
Samuel Batista

Friday, July 14
Amaryllis Chamber Ensemble

Wednesday, July 19
Niu Raza

Friday, July 21
Joel LaRue Smith

Wednesday, July 26
BEARD

Friday, July 28
Properly Unprepared

August

Wednesday, August 2
Harshitha Krishnan

Friday, August 4
Kenn Morr Band

Wednesday, August 9
Sleeping Lion

Friday, August 11
Boston Philharmonic

Wednesday, August 16
Venezuelan Project

Friday, August 18
Night Tree

Wednesday, August 23
Abby Carey

Friday, August 25
Boston Lyric Opera

Wednesday, August 30
Amber Olivia Kiner

 

Featured Image via Facebook/Ross Bergfalk

You may also like...